“Ah, Holy Jesus” is perhaps the most poignant and beautiful music reflection on Jesus’ suffering for our sake. This accessible Just Add People! piano accompaniment provides a bit more movement than the traditional hymn setting, retaining the tune’s prayerful character but keeping the hymn moving forward. The arrangement also sounds wonderful with acoustic guitar playing the included chords.

Piano accompaniment for congregational singing.

words by Johann Heermann, trans. Robert Bridges
music by Johann Crüger
arranged by Greg Scheer
copyright April 1, 2021

This arrangement is mentioned in Greg’s podcast, “Lent: Maundy Thursday and Good Friday.”

1. Ah, holy Jesus,
how have you offended,
that mortal judgment
has on you descended?
By foes derided,
by your own rejected,
O most afflicted!

2. Who was the guilty?
Who brought this upon you?
It is my treason,
Lord, that has undone you.
‘Twas I, Lord Jesus,
I it was denied you;
I crucified you!

3. For me, dear Jesus,
was your incarnation,
your mortal sorrow,
and your life’s oblation;
your death of anguish,
and your bitter passion
for my salvation.

4. Therefore, dear Jesus,
since I cannot pay you,
I do adore you
and will ever pray you,
think on your pity,
and your love unswerving,
not my deserving.